top of page

A Message From Our Founder


In summer of 2017, Mayor Rahm Emanuel presented Rev. Dr. Clay Evans with the City of Chicago Community Service Award at a celebration held to honor his legacy and preview his archive collection at the Chicago Public Library Harold Washington Library Center (HWLC).







IMAGE: Patrick Pyszka // City of Chicago

It Is No Secret What God Can Do 
Dear Friend and Supporter:
Prior to 1975, as Pastor of Fellowship Missionary Baptist Church, I believed in supporting young people seeking a college education. Therefore, in May of 1975, the Clay Evans $cholarship Fund, presently known as the CE$Foundation, was organized.
Today, we continue to follow my desire to help the “C” average student. The cost of a college education is escalating at a rapid increase of nine per cent (9%) and higher. Many colleges are out of the financial reach of the average student. So as you may imagine, resources are limited for the “C” student, when compared to the 3.7 Grade Point Average or “B” average and above student. This makes our challenge to aid the average student desiring to further his/her education, even more pressing.
As a supporter for many years, you have given the CE$F your support during critical times. I continue to seek your support at this time, as it is of the utmost and vital importance. THANKS TO YOU, and with your help, we have been able to award 5 Scholarships and 7 to 10 Financial Aid Awards each year. THIS WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN POSSIBLE WITHOUT YOU AND YOUR SUPPORT!
For this reason, I am so very appreciative and thankful to you. It is also with this thought in mind that I continue to ask you to again, remember us with your financial donations. Please help us to maintain, or possibly surpass our past record of scholarship and financial aid awards, but more importantly, help us to educate a student who might otherwise not have an opportunity to do so.

Reverend Dr. Clay Evans
Founder and CEO



National Board of Directors

Reverend Clay Evans, Ex-Officio

Deacon Michael Evans, President

Sarita Hafford, Vice President

Attorney Eugene Smith, Esq.


Deacon Michael Evans, President 

Lee Halford - Board Member 

Helen A. Warren – Chairman Financial Aid / Public Relations

Angela La Cruise – Financial Aid

Dorothy McReynolds -  Financial Secretary

Dianne Kelly - Board Member

Darnell Phillips - Board Member

Deacon Anthony Rogers – Assistant Treasurer

Bettie Pulliam – Financial Aid Committee

Attorney Eugene Smith, Esq. - Scholarship Committee

Margeaux McReynolds – Chairperson Scholarship Committee

Darin Nolin – Co-Chairman Scholarship Committee

Attorney Aldorphus Bailey - Scholarship Committee

Shantel Jarmon - Web Coordinator

Demetrius Burgess - Board Member

Angela La Cruise – Financial Aid

Marcel Evans - Board Member

Beverly Tatum - Board Member


Sarita Hafford   - President

Rev. Kevin Barken - Vice President

Opal Hay - Treasurer 

Shirley Dewalt - Secretary

Rev. Rickey Reed - Board Advisor

Attorney Michael Banks - Brownsville City Attorney

Gem Bell - Chairman of the Board for Brownsville Chamber of Commerce/ Member of the Haywood County Board of Education

Cedric Bunch - Haywood County Schools Extended Learning Program Director

Nadine Lee - Retired

Olivia Farrington - Member of the Haywood County Board of Education

Sherrhonda Rogers - Haywood County Commissioner 

Jay Boyd - Family Engagement Coordinator/GEAR UP Services Coordinator Haywood County Schools



bottom of page